Erasmus Mundus Master's programme in Security and Mobile Computing (NordSecMob)

For international students who wishes to study Security and Mobile Computing, the Technical University of Denmark offers a Master of Science degree Programme on an advanced level in cooperation with four Universities in the Nordic and Baltic countries. This programme provides students with profound and wide knowledge in computer science, data security and mobile computing, both in practice and in theory. The programme aims at developing the research skills of students to further studies at the PhD-level, gaining international research experience in R&D environments and give an access to major international networks. 

The NordSecMob programme is a full-time Master of Science double degree Programme with a duration of 2 years. The programme is offered by the Nordsecmob consortium, a Nordic and Baltic academic cooperation between 5 universities within Information Security:

  • Aalto University School of Science (Aalto) in Finland (coordinator), Technical University of Denmark (DTU),
  • The Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) in Sweden,
  • The Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)
  • University of Tartu (UT) in Estonia

During the two years, students will study at two of the 5 partner universities. Upon graduation, the student will be awarded a double degree diploma, i.e. a diploma from each university, at which the student studies. The international students study together with domestic students, and teaching is in English. For graduates having studied at DTU, the degree MSc in Engineering, Security and Mobile Computing is awarded.

Studying at DTU under the Nordsecmob Programme

When applying for the Nordsecmob programme, the student will have to choose the combination of universities for the study. Students, who wishes to study at DTU under the Nordsecmob programme, will have the choice of studying at either Aalto in Helsinki, KTH in Stockholm, or NTNU in Trondheim for the first semester. The student may tailor learning outcome in detail by choosing a first semester with emphasis on:

  • Aalto: Technical Information Security and Network Services
  • NTNU: Security in Telematics
  • KTH: Communications Systems Design

Then, students will move to DTU in Copenhagen for the second to the fourth semester studying two semesters of courses and one semester of thesis work following the Safe and Secure IT-Systems curriculum:

Modern, professional IT-Systems are constructed using formal logical methods and representations for modelling problems. The specialization will provide you with theoretically and technologically well-founded methods, tools and techniques for designing, implementing, and validating safe and secure IT-systems.

The DTU study programme consists of the following elements:
    • Mandatory courses corresponding to 20 ects
    • Optional courses corresponding to at least 22½ ects
    • Electives corresponding to at most 17½ ects
    • A Master's Thesis corresponding to at least 30 ects

Spring: (2nd semester)
    • 7½ ects 02244 Language Based Security
    • 5 ects (June) 02297 Writing and Presenting Science and Engineering
    • 5 ects 01405 Error-Correcting Codes
    • 7½ ects 02220 Distributed Systems
    • 10 ects 02141 Computer Science Modeling
    • 5 ects 02142 Semantics and Inference Systems
    • 5 ects 02224 Real-Time Systems
    • 5 ects 02233 Network Security
    • 5 ects (June) 02238 Biometric Systems

Autumn: (3rd semester)
    • 7½ ects 02242 Program Analysis
    • 5 ects 01426 Cryptology 2
    • 5 ects 02156 Formal Logical Systems
    • 5 ects 02232 Applied Cryptography
    • 7½ ects 02239 Data Security
    • 5 ects 02267 Software Development of Web Services

17½ ects Free choice of courses over the semesters

Spring: (4th semester)
Master's Thesis

Version 5.1, Published on 30th November 2015, for students admitted Autumn 2016 or later
Note: Courses 02142 and 02141 are mutually exclusive alternatives

Further information

The programme is coordinated by Aalto University School of Science, who maintains the Nordsecmob Programme homepage.
where you may find more details on the programme including application procedure, study structure, scholarship program as well as an online application form.

The development of the Nordsecmob joint study programme is supported by the Nordiska Ministerrådet, and Nordsecmob is a selected Masters Courses by the European Commission Erasmus Mundus programme for European university education at Master’s level. Through the Erasmus Mundus programme, a limited number of EU-funded scholarships for third country (non EU/non-EEA) nationals are available.


Flemming Stassen
Associate professor
DTU Compute
+45 45 25 37 53